top of page
  • pelediamond

Boxes into Baskets

Updated: Mar 9, 2022

Is it easy? Can it be done in a couple hours tops? Is it possible I'll find all the items I need to accomplish the task around my apartment? As a college student, these are just some of the questions that immediately pop into my head when thinking about doing a DIY project let alone an upcycled one. I know most of the time I feel too busy on weekends running around trying to get groceries, clean over stacked dirty laundry, and sometimes working shifts at my job to even consider DIY projects. This is why I am not here to force feed you a bunch of statistics on how they improve the environment or how you'll be contributing to a clean green community. I will, however, present you with some fun and cost efficient DIY projects that will benefit you just as much as they benefit other causes. Hopefully, these projects can be a fun way to save money and create much needed household and personal items while conveniently showing you the value in upcycling.


Moving into campus housing has really shown me all the things I took advantage of having within arms reach at home. One of which is having little boxes and holders that help organize everything from my facial care products to my underwear. If you can relate, this project is definitely for you! Check out the link to the website below to transform your cardboard boxes into baskets like the one displayed below.


Basket DIY Project: Elizabeth Joan Designs



First Consider... The Materials You Will Need


List:

  • An ordinary cardboard box

  • 4 ply jute

  • Hot glue gun

  • Glue sticks

  • Fabric for the basket liner

I know what you're thinking, a hot glue gun and 4 ply jute are not exactly something you can find in your junk drawer. I know finding these things may be less convenient but to help I have linked cost efficient amazon options below for all these products. Also, the glue gun will be useful to have for future projects if you find yourself enjoying and wanting to create more DIY products.



This is such a great way to get creative and use those items around the house you would have most likely tossed out. If you think about it, you're saving money not only because you did not buy a new basket but also because your getting your money's worth of the materials (like the box) you used while making it.


Affordable Buying Options:

*Disclaimer: Upcycling is best achieved by finding items you already have and/or used items from other locations. If you can, try to find used items from your house, friends, or family before buying from these links :)






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page