top of page
  • pelediamond

Worth The Price?

Updated: Mar 9, 2022

I have always been a penny pincher when it comes to making purchases- especially when it comes to non-essential items. However, as I have gotten older I have found that there are a list of things that I consider exceptions to this rule. For example, I'd rather pay for a good quality water bottle than buy a cheap one that will crack the first time I drop it. Of course this thought process all depends on what you value and consider to be long-term vs a short term purchases. For me, I determine if something is a long-term purchase based on the amount of uses/benefits it will provide as well as how long I would like to use to product for. Then I break down the amount it costs, conceptualizing whether or not I will get my moneys worth. Making the decision to buy upcycled art rather than potentially cheaper mass manufactured goods can be conflicting. I would like to provide a few major reasons I feel upcycled art pieces are worth the higher prices they at times entail.


1. The Environmental Benefits: Many artists reuse materials that would have been on their way to fill up already overflowing landfills. The turnover rate of purchases turning into waste products is reflective of a society that throws things away as quickly as it buys them. This bad habit snowballs into life altering consequences including but not limited to: ground water contamination, methane gas formation and migration, disease vector hazards, air pollution, climate change, soil contamination, and the destruction of ecosystems and wildlife.



Seeing images like this make me feel beyond disturbed and helpless to change the damage that has already been done to the environment. It may feel like a small act but supporting small businesses that reuse plastics and other harmful waste products combat their presence within the homes of species like this turtle.


2. Supporting old school craftmanship: The artists which produce upcycled art show their pieces a special kind of care and attention. Even the most upscale brands often don't have individual artists designing and creating each item to be different from the rest. I think of the higher prices as an investment given that I am purchasing something that is one of a kind.



3. Supporting small businesses: Many small businesses are going out of business due to the competition of larger stores. By purchasing these items you are allowing smaller boutiques to regain financial standing and increasing their chances of longevity.

4. Meeting New People: By looking for and attending upcycling venues in my area, I have met a bunch of new people. Ranging from other shoppers to the artists themselves, I have found the upcycling community to be immensely welcoming.

5. Adventure: Upcycling events can range from pop-up spot locations to art galleries. Regardless, they give you the opportunity to explore your area. You might be surprised to find other shops around them that you never would have discovered.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page